Courage vs Fear

25 Nov

What is Courage?

According to my dictionary, it is the ability to confront fear, pain, uncertainty, danger, and intimidation. It is the ability to face or overcome what makes us fall, afraid, and weak. In the contrary, fear is makes us cowards.

Have you watched the Green Lantern movie?

For me, that movie taught me to face my fears just like Hal Jordan, the main character, faced the main antagonist, Parallax. Parallax symbolizes fear and he grows stronger every time he feeds on a soul that is fearful.

Image

Just like us, if we get intimidated by it, it will take over, your fear will eat you alive. You will succumb to it, and eventually, you’ll find yourself dead, in a sense that you’ll find yourself being afraid of it the rest of your life.

So, how do we overcome our fears? Easy, face it. Just like how Hal Jordan defeated Parallax. When you see a flying cockroach, get a pesticide and kill it.

Personally, I’m afraid of the famous flying cockroach, ghosts, wild animals, demons, and True-to-Life horror movies/stories. However, I haven’t overcame my fear of True-to-Life horror movies/stories because of the suspense, especially if it’s the kind of movie that has faces that pop up out of nowhere.

Image 

I can face this by watching more movies like these even though I am really jumpy while watching.

I also have this fear of my soul going to the Hell. I am afraid of what God will do to my soul when the time comes. To avoid this, I must follow the The Ten Commandments.

We may have different fears, we may have common ones but if we become courageous enough we can overcome anything that makes us afraid.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

