Sleepless Nights

25 Oct

As students, we all had the experience of studying through the night. We sometimes study for hours, sleep for a few minutes or a couple of hours then read again. But does studying through the night really help us in our studies or does it help us get a step closer to failure? This question has bothered me for a long time. Some people say that it’s bad while some people say that they work better as the night passes.

 

When I was still studying in La Salle, studying through the night was very rare occurrence (I wasn’t really that studying type…) so I had little idea on the effect of it to my mind and body. However, that changed when was admitted here at Enderun I decided to get more serious about my studies. I just slept for a few hours when there were quizzes or during the midterms, sometimes I didn’t sleep at all. That’s when I realized something; I could really do a lot of things instead of just sleeping. During my “Sleepless nights” I studied, I ate a ton of food, I watched TV for a couple of minutes (or more), and I even got to do papers for my other subjects. Imagine the things that we could do if we don’t need to sleep. We could be done for a weeks worth of work in just four days! Anyway, going back to my story, the nights that I spent studying were not useless. I think it paid off. The results were really not that bad. Of course staying awake through the night have its setbacks but who cares?? I have got grades that I can be proud of.

 

Weeks after midterms, I glanced upon article on Yahoo! about what staying awake all night does to our body. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to read it. But I’m guessing that it doesn’t do much good to our health. Earlier, I said that this question “Does studying through the night really help us in our studies or does it help us get a step closer to failure?” has bothered me for long time. Some people say that your mind will work better if you had a good night sleep before you take a test, you must have an ample amount of rest, or your mind must be relaxed. On the other hand, some people said that they work better late at night, some people said that they tend to be more focused as the night goes on. I have tried taking a test without any sleep. This is what I felt, some people said that you need to be relaxed when you’re going to take a test in order for you to remember more. Having said that, I felt more alert when I didn’t sleep the night before. I was able to remember the things that I studied for; there was no problem about that. I didn’t drink any Red Bull, Lipovitan, or any energy drink. The only problem was that after the test, I felt very sluggish. But I had good grades. Health wise, of course staying awake through the night can damage your health in the long run.

 

I have heard a lot of people saying that it’s ok to stay for the whole night for the exams, I have also heard a lot of people saying that it is not ok. What about you? What is your take on this? Do you think that staying awake or sleeping affect our exam results? Does it affect our memory?

To sleep or not to sleep?

 

Leave a Reply

