The belly rules the mind

17 Oct
The belly rules the mind. ~Spanish Proverb

Most people have a checklist of things to do as soon as they wake up. Or that could be just me. I’m a little weird like that and based on my quote, food is , obviously, the first thing that enters my head the moment my “morning haze” lifts.

I grew up in a family where food was easily accessible but always planned. My mother would always, and I mean ALWAYS, plan our meal  in advance so that the maids doesn’t have to pester her about what to cook on a daily basis . Like the great Buddy Hackett once said,

“As a child my family’s menu consisted of two choices: take it or leave it.”


I had to eat what was available or else not eat at all. I guess this was a good think, because it taught me to appreciate a wide variety of food and made me less picky as well. I think it was also because of this that I have a tendency to crave for food that reminds me of my earlier, more formative years. When i was younger my mother would never allow me to eat sweets or desserts, i was only to allowed to have them if i did well in school. When i would do well, i was allowed to have every dessert i would desire, which was always Vanilla ice cream. Now that i’m older i tend to look for  vanilla ice cream when i feel down or when i feel the need to celebrate because it never fails to bring me back to that certain good memory, where i felt so happy and satisfied.

I have a horrible habit of eating a lot of carbs: sweets, ice cream, french fries, bread and butter, mashed potatoes, etc. I think this is because every time I’d cry or feel sad, my favorite helper would buy me at least two or three of the things listed above.

Besides the fact that carbs help the absorption of Tryptophan, which helps the production of serotonin, as per Andrea Byrd, a neurotransmitter that has many functions including ontrol of appetite, sleep, memory and learning, temperature regulation, mood, behavior (including sexual and hallucinogenic behavior), cardiovascular function, muscle contraction, endocrine regulation, and depression , it reminds me of home, of comfort and of my helpers tendency to spoil me. Because of this, I have a tendency to eat a lot of carbs when stressed, which isn’t healthy, I know.

I then attend yoga like a madwoman and lose all the unwanted carbs, which makes me happy until my next binge. It’s a vicious cycle, really, one that I need to stop, but it’s easier said than done. One can only hope for the best, in cases like this.

Leave a Reply

