Remembering Sophomore Year (2007-2008) by Agie Mañego (Staccato)

27 Mar

Note: These events actually happened. The wording may not be accurate, but it was tweaked a bit for the sake of the lesson.

 

~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~

 

It was a silly thing, really, this quiz. Our teacher gave us five minutes to memorize a list of terms he wrote on the board and… That’s it, basically. We get a one-fourth sheet of pad paper and write it all down. It’s practically a give-away quiz!

 

“Ugh!”

 

I looked towards my seatmate who had planted her face against her desk. She groaned again.

 

“I can’t do this,” she said, whining. “It’s too long.”

 

I wanted to snap back at her to keep quiet but my other classmate beat me to it.

 

“It’s because you’re not concentrating, so keep quiet! You’re distracting me.” She whispered harshly.

 

I looked back at the blackboard and read over the words again. Terrestrial biomes. Desert. Taiga. Tundra. Grassland. Temperate forest. Tropical rainforest. Aquatic biomes. Pond. Coral reef. Freshwater biomes. Rivers. Lakes. Streams. Ponds. Vernal pools. Marine biomes. Intertidal zone. Neritic zone. Open-sea zone. Deep-sea zone.

 

… What the heck is a vernal pool? Ugh. Just think, easy points, easy points. Teacher will probably discuss it later on.

 

Again.

 

Terrestrial biomes. Desert. Taiga. Tundra. Grassland. Temperate forest. Tropical rainforest. Aquatic biomes. Pond. Coral reef. Freshwater biomes. Rivers. Lakes. Streams. Ponds. Vernal pools. Marine biomes. Intertidal zone. Neritic zone. Open-sea zone. Deep-sea zone.

 

I must look so silly, staring at the blackboard intently while practically whispering the list like a mantra again and again. But it helps, y’know?

 

Anyway, quiz time!

 

~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~

 

I sighed, frustrated over my empty notebook. I should’ve listened to my friend and took down notes during class rather than doodle on scraps of paper.

 

“Your good memory won’t help you much if you have nothing to look over and understand, huh?” My friend teased, sitting down next to me.

 

I glared at her. “Shouldn’t you be helping me rather than mocking me?”

 

She just smiled smugly. “Here’s what we’ll do. I’ll go over the lessons with you and you better take down your own notes. Borrowing mine won’t help you because I’m the only one who can understand it.”

 

Nodding, I started writing down the important points in what she was lecturing me about. A few underlines here and there would help to emphasize my point, wouldn’t it? Besides, I can’t write everything she’s saying, might as well summarize it and just put a keyword that I would understand.

 

It took quite some time, but she was happy to lecture me because she got to review herself for the exams in the process.

 

“Do you want to review a bit more or take another break…?”

 

I looked back down at my notes, proud of them. I managed to outIine most of them while we took short breaks so that it was organized – even by a little bit. I looked back up at my friend and smiled, “How about we ask each other questions to see what we’ve understood?”

 

~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~   ~

 

I’ll admit that I’m a pretty visual person. It was much easier to remember what I’ve memorized if I visualized it as well – like those biomes!  I couldn’t remember certain things exactly as they were worded by my friend, but because I understood I managed to explain it on my own.

 

Of course, I suppose I wouldn’t have found the time to study much and efficiently if she hadn’t constantly nagged me that I couldn’t cram all the information a day before. So we both reviewed a few days earlier – maybe a week earlier?

 

I passed my paper with a smile and walked out of the classroom to the knowing smirk of my friend. “What?”

 

“You look happy.”

 

“Who wouldn’t? I don’t usually study but, I mean, y’know-“ She whacked me at the back of my head, muttering something about ungrateful friends and my being lazy.

 

“Hehe.”

Leave a Reply

