A Personality Blog by Abu Sales (Staccato)

21 Mar

Santrock defined personality as a pattern of enduring, distinctive thoughts, emotions, and behaviors that characterize the way an individual adapts to the world. People find it hard to define and explain why people react to a certain situation in a specific way. As discussed in the book, some theorists believe that biological and genetic factors are responsible: others say that it is a product of life experiences.  Actually it varies depending on the person you are looking at.

Personality is divided into three segments: the id, the ego, and the superego. Id is the part that always seeks pleasure and avoids pain. On the contrary, the ego acts according to the rules of reality. It always abides by the norms of society. The superego, then, is the moral branch of personality. It is what people know of as conscience. Let’s say you are taking an exam: your id will tell you to cheat so that you can pass the exam, ego will tell you to cheat but try not to get in trouble, while superego will say that don’t do it at all because you will feel guilty. It’s really difficult for the ego to decide because of id and superego.

Personality consists of broad, enduring dispositions that tend to lead to certain behaviors. It’s what we call traits. Some examples of this are outgoing, friendly, and adventurous.

Each individual has his/her own unique set of personality traits, says Allport. He said that if we can determine a person’s traits, we could predict the individual’s behavior in various circumstances. I somewhat believe this because I know someone who is adventurous and every time we don’t have anything to do, out of the blue, she’ll invite us to do something out of our comfort zones like mountain climbing, and surfing.

There are five factors of personality that is defined as the most important dimensions. These are openness, conscientiousness, extraversion, agreeableness, and neuroticism. Each of us is in different levels for each factor, and our experiences or the environment we grew in might cause this. Like me, I’m not really an extroverted person. I’m not comfortable talking in front o a crowd, I’d prefer to just sit and listen. I took the NEO-IPIP test and it said that I was on the average level for extraversion, which means I enjoy time with others as well as time alone. I do speak out but only in front of people that I am close to because when I’m with them, I feel that I belong and that I don’t need to worry about them judging me. NEO-IPIP helped me understand my personality more and it paved way for me to examine myself. If you want to take the test, here’s the link: http://www.personal.psu.edu/j5j/IPIP/ipipneo300.htm

Generally, studying a person’s traits helps us know the person better. It will help us choose careers better, know how well we do in it, and also how well we’ll get along with our colleagues. But we should always consider the fact that our traits are not fairly consistent, it varies depending on the situation we are in.

Leave a Reply

